top of page
  • Writer's pictureGemma

A Gentleman In Moscow by Amor Towles

Our Score:★★★★★★✩✩✩✩


GENRE: Historical Fiction


Selected by Sandra -July 2018

SYNOPSIS:

In 1922, Count Alexander Rostov is deemed an unrepentant aristocrat by a Bolshevik tribunal, and is sentenced to house arrest in the Metropol, a grand hotel across the street from the Kremlin. Rostov, an indomitable man of erudition and wit, has never worked a day in his life, and must now live in an attic room while some of the most tumultuous decades in Russian history are unfolding outside the hotel’s doors. Unexpectedly, his reduced circumstances provide him entry into a much larger world of emotional discovery.


(Synopsis taken from Goodreads)






 

REVIEW: (Contains spoilers)


Gemma's Thoughts:

Historical fiction isn't my favoured genre but I found this book a pleasant surprise. It was very informative of the Russian era and culture. I was surprised by the way the Count still upheld his normal routines in the hotel such as his fine dining experiences when he was stripped of his wealth and class. I imagine keeping his dignity was one thing he could control. The characters within the book were delightful, this is what made the novel for me. It is at the moment when the Count first encounters Nina that the book came alive. She is such an inquisitive child and we see a softer side of the Count. From then onward, as new characters were introduced we saw a more fuller picture of who the Count was, I believe he became a better person living in his attic room. Sofia steals your heart the moment she enters the pages and the pace of the novel starts to pick up. I must admit the ending was quite a surprise and also a little sad but what a wonderful plan was put into place. Although I only scored this book a 5, I would definitely recommend it to others and am glad I read it, as this is not a book I would have selected.


Sandra's Thoughts:

While I was taken aback by the beauty of this story at times, I also found myself bored in some places. There were many things that I found to be quite interesting about the Count's life and the ongoing commentary on Russia's Bolshevik-era politics. However, I found my mind wandering frequently. Especially with some of the explanations and literature used. For example, maybe just me, but how up until now did I not know what a triumvirate was?! That being said, I do think that this book is worth a read. It was interesting, if not always gripping. I certainly feel more 'enlightened' for having read this book. It was a nice change for me.

 

THE SCORES:

Donna: 9

Gemma: 5

Kim: 7

Pamela: 5

Sandra: 6

 

Average 6


Let us know what you thought about this book. We would love to read your reviews and hear what you would score it.


If you enjoyed this book why not try:

  • Stone's Fall by Iain Pears

  • Kane and Abel by Jeffery Archer

  • The Death Instinct by Jed Rebenfeld

Happy reading!

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page