top of page
  • Writer's pictureGemma

Season Of The Witch by Natasha Mostert

Updated: Mar 4, 2019


Our Score:★★★★★★★✩✩✩


GENRE: Gothic Thriller, Fantasy


Selected by Gemma - September 2008

SYNOPSIS:

In her award-winning novel*, Natasha Mostert blends alchemy, the art of memory, high magic and murder to create a highly original psychological thriller. Gabriel Blackstone is a cool, hip, thoroughly twenty-first century Londoner with an unusual talent. A computer hacker by trade, he is also a remote viewer: able to 'slam a ride' through the minds of others. But he uses his gift only reluctantly - until he is asked to find a young man last seen months earlier at Monk House, in the company of two mysterious women. Gabriel becomes increasingly bewitched by the house, and by its owners, the beautiful Monk sisters. But even as he falls in love, he suspects that one of them is a killer. But which one? And what is the secret they are so determined to protect?


(Synopsis from Goodreads)


 

STORY BEHIND THE BOOK:

Gemma:

This was my second book choice so I wanted a book that was completely different to Kevin! I love psychological thrillers so this book ticked that category. I also liked the element of witchery and was excited to find a book like this.

 

QUESTIONS:

Whilst attempting to write a few questions about the book for discussion I came across Natasha Mostert's website. Not only are there discussion questions but a whole heap of additional information that I just had to share. Check out the link for author's notes, information on remote viewing and memory, as well as sample chapters http://www.natashamostert.com/clubs/

 

REVIEW:


Gemma's Thoughts:

This book takes you on a magical journey with elements of witchcraft, mystery and murder. The characters on the whole are realistic, there are twists along the way but a bit predictable in places. I really enjoyed this book, it kept me interested and wanting to read more. The two sisters with their similar names confused me at times and I had to keep going back to find out which one was which. My favourite character was Gabriel's friend Isidore. I was saddened by some events that took place within the book and let down by the ending. For me it became a bit too much of a fantasy/sci-fi novel towards the end which I didn't enjoy. However, having said that it is a book I will recommend to others and will remember.


 

THE SCORES:

Emma: 6

Gemma: 8

Maria: 8

Nic: 7

 

Average 7


Let us know what you thought about this book. We would love to read your reviews and know what you would score it.


If you enjoyed reading this book why not try:

  • The Gargoyle by Andrew Davidson

  • The Girl On The Landing by Paul Torday

  • The Girl With All The Gifts by M.R. Carey

  • The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

  • Rivers Of London by Ben Aaronovitch

  • The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle by Stuart Turton

Happy reading!

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page