top of page
  • thebookcosy

Vox by Christina Dalcher

Updated: Sep 4, 2019

Our Score:★★★★★★✩✩✩✩


GENRE: Science Fiction

Selected by Pamela - April 2019

SYNOPSIS:

Set in an America where half the population has been silenced, VOX is the harrowing, unforgettable story of what one woman will do to protect herself and her daughter.

On the day the government decrees that women are no longer allowed to speak more than 100 words daily, Dr. Jean McClellan is in denial—this can't happen here. Not in America. Not to her.

This is just the beginning.

Soon women can no longer hold jobs. Girls are no longer taught to read or write. Females no longer have a voice. Before, the average person spoke sixteen thousand words a day, but now women only have one hundred to make themselves heard.

But this is not the end.

For herself, her daughter, and every woman silenced, Jean will reclaim her voice.


(Synopsis taken from Goodreads)

 

STORY BEHIND THE BOOK:

Pamela:

I actually had no idea what book I was going to select this time round. I hadn't done any prior research so when I was in London I took the opportunity of popping into a large Waterstones and browsed through their spacious 5 floors. I spent a relaxing hour and a half exploring the books on offer. I was drawn to their 'Current New Reads' table where I found Vox! Although, I drifted towards other tables and had a look at the selections available I kept coming back to Vox, so knew this must be my next read.

 

THE DISCUSSION: (Contains spoilers)

We all agreed that this was a very disturbing read. The thought that women had a maximum quota of words per day was distressing enough without the knowledge that young girls were also denied the basic skills of reading and writing. Furthermore, the women would be punished if they exceeded their 100 words a day with electric shocks and sent off to be persecuted and humiliated if they broke the rules or refused to follow them. Although we were horrified with the concept behind the book we reflected on times throughout history and in other cultures where extremist thoughts were/still are considered to be acceptable and people were/are persecuted.


Although we were divided on some of the characters we all loved the postman and his family along with the secret underground organisation fighting against the Pure Movement. There were lots of shocking elements within the book. For example, where Julia, the neighbours daughter was sent away and then Olivia, Julia's mother was found with severe burns on her wrist due to the electrical charges of the counter on her wrist. We discussed how easily the youth could be 'brainwashed' by the government and thought Christina Dalcher highlighted this point beautifully in her portrayal of the eldest son Steven.


The news that the government had three teams making a serum was a twist we didn't see coming and of course the consequence of that would have been life-changing. A mass-produce anti-Wernicke serum, a mass-produce Wernicke serum and a water solubility Wernicke serum.


Overall we were all very glad to have read this book. We found it very realistic, enjoyed different elements within it and had mixed opinions on the ending. If you haven't read it I would definitely say it's one not to be missed purely for the thought provoking and uniqueness of the novel.

 

LINKS:


Check out the webpage:



Here you will find an interview with the author Christina Dalcher and some questions to enhance your book club discussions.

 

REVIEW: (Contains Spoilers):


Gemma's Thoughts:

This was a book I was very much looking forward to especially as I had seen it on Instagram and read some great reviews. When I first started reading it I found it hard going, not in the sense of the quality of the writing but more to do with the content. I couldn't begin to imagine what it would be like to live with a 'fitbit' style band around your wrist and limited to one hundred words a day. Then to be given an electric shock every time you went over the allocated daily word count and worse still, for the shock to increase with the extra increments of words was mind blowing. Not only that but to have your own child grow up in a controlling and overpowering environment, knowing that you have to be submissive and obedient was too much for me. I guess in a way I shouldn't have felt shocked as isn't this what has happened in society and history throughout the ages - oppression, isolation, abuse of the different social classes, racial, cultural and sexual prejudices. It was all a bit depressing.


I hated reading about their lives and was sickened by her eldest son and his opinions which he voiced frequently at the beginning of the novel. Was he to blame or was he just radicalised? I felt a surge of hope as Jean was employed again. However, I grew a bit bored of her affair and the trial that she was working on. I did like the underground organisation, especially the postman and was relieved to find out that her husband was also part of this group.


Throughout the novel she mentions her friend who disappeared suddenly after her continued protests and work against the new government. I found it strange that she turn up towards the end. The ending for me was also a disappointment, it was all too conveniently wrapped up with her moving away with her children and lover. A very unique concept to the book and I was very much drawn into the story.


Sandra's Thoughts:

I found the story a little slow going in places but enjoyed it nonetheless. The concept of the book was very unique and reminded me of The Handmaid's Tale, which I enjoyed. I did wonder what the significance was of Jean getting attacked by the monkey as I found this very odd and a distraction from the main story. A thought provoking novel.


Nic's Thoughts:

I enjoyed the book, even though I didn't really enjoy the writing style. I liked the characters, especially Jackie and Lorenzo and was satisfied with how the story came to its conclusion. A happy ending.


Pamela's Thoughts:

I really enjoyed this book - whilst some of the characters annoyed me, Jean's husband Patrick (though I was upset that he was killed off), Morgan LeBron (though was pleased he did not survive and got bitten by a rabbit) and Rev Carl Corbin (a serious nutter!). Equally I loved the strength of the women in this book, in Jean, Lin and Jackie and I am pleased we got to meet Jackie in the end, rather than just hearing of Jean's memories of her. The inclusion of the medical information and the illicit romance between Jean and Lorenzo all added to my pleasure when reading this book.


The twist of Poe at the end and how some of the men were working against 'The Pure Movement' I did not see coming and was really pleased that it had a 'happy ending'.


Kim's Thoughts:

Although I enjoyed this book I found it quite a slow start and when it picked up pace and got to the 'interesting bits' was over all too quickly, in my opinion. I thought the ending was wrapped up too neatly and it didn't really explain everything. For example, I wanted to know what happened to Patrick, how did he die?


Donna's Thoughts:

I would never have chosen this book to read but from page one I was hooked! The one thing that gripped me from the first page was the helplessness of the women, and how I would feel in their situation. I liked the heroines, despised, at times, her son and warmed to her husband when he was at last the hero. I agree that the ending was too rushed, there were many things left unanswered like how did her son appear at the lab? Overall I loved it.


Emma's Thoughts:

I wonder! Would I have liked this more if I had neve seen The Handmaiden's Tale, but ultimately I felt it was too similar to the programme. Putting the similarities aside, I actually felt disgusted by the plot and the idea of even putting bracelets on women to limit their words, stripping them of their independence, careers and freedom. I wanted to march the streets burning this book at it's utter ridiculousness! Why on earth was I even reading it? However, for one fleeting moment I did wonder if Steven's point of view was correct and if life would be a lot easier for women if we did just stay at home and look after the house - so we didn't need to think about so many things and be women 'who have it all' - I must have been having a rough week, so it was a fleeting thought, as the plot still angers me. The ending was pretty poor too! I really wanted Jean to have underestimated Patrick finding out he was the head of the resistance, after the Italian lover was killed by Morgan! Good thing I missed the book club meet up as I'm sure my comments would have caused some serious controversy and a heated discussion!

 

THE SCORES:

Donna: 8

Emma: 5

Gemma: 6

Kim: 7

Nic: 6

Pamela: 8

Sandra: 6

 

Average 6


Let us know your thoughts about this book. We would love to read your reviews and hear what you would score it.


Happy reading!

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page