top of page
  • thebookcosy

Lies by T. M. Logan

Our Score:★★★★★★★✩✩✩


GENRE: Thriller


Selected by Karen - January 2018

SYNOPSIS:

WHAT IF YOUR WHOLE LIFE WAS BASED ON LIES? When Joe Lynch stumbles across his wife driving into a hotel car park while she's supposed to be at work, he's intrigued enough to follow her in.

And when he witnesses her in an angry altercation with family friend Ben, he knows he ought to intervene.

But just as the confrontation between the two men turns violent, and Ben is knocked unconscious, Joe's young son has an asthma attack - and Joe must flee in order to help him.

When he returns, desperate to make sure Ben is OK, Joe is horrified to find that Ben has disappeared.

And that's when Joe receives the first message . .

(Synopsis taken from Goodreads)

 

STORY BEHIND THE BOOK:

Karen:

I love a good thriller so for me this was the perfect choice for my next book.

 

REVIEW: (Contains spoilers)


Gemma's Thoughts:

This genre of book is my preferred so I felt very excited and comfortable in starting this novel. I guess because I have read a lot of books from this genre I expect a lot from the plot, characters and twist. Unfortunately, I was a bit disappointed. On the whole, the book delivers. It is fast paced, leaves you questioning everything and does have a twist at the end, my only problem was that it was all too far fetched and unrealistic.


Emma's Thoughts:

LOVED IT! A real page turner that wouldn't let me put it down. I didn't guess the twist at all, although I could question how it was all possible - the live messages on the computer, the text messages, the break in, the photographs but hey - I don't even want to go there. It was a great book that you could easily pick up and escape from every day life.

Karen's Thoughts:

I was drawn into this book from the very beginning. A good plot, well written with good characters. I thought there were a few things going on that were actually a bit far fetched, but enjoyable enough to overlook those. I did actually guess who the main 'villains' were from very early on but I was thrown off the scent for only a short while. A book I would definitely recommend.


 

THE SCORES:

Gemma: 6

Emma: 7

Karen: 8

Nic: 7

Pamela: 8

Sandra: 6

 

Average 7


Let us know what you thought about this book. We would love to read your reviews and hear what you would score it.


If you enjoyed this book why not try:

  • Hurting Distance by Sophie Hannah

  • Cuckoo by Julia Crouch

  • Never Coming Back by Tim Weaver

  • The Burning Air by Erin Kelly

  • The Book of You by Claire Kendal

  • Black-Eyed Susans by Julia Heaberlin

Happy reading!

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page