top of page
  • Writer's pictureGemma

The Man I Think I Know by Mike Gayle

Updated: Nov 4, 2019

Our Score:★★★★★★★✩✩✩


Genre: Contemporary Fiction

Selected by Kim - October 2018

Synopsis:

Ever since The Incident, James DeWitt has stayed on the safe side.

He likes to know what happens next.

Danny Allen is not on the safe side. He is more past the point of no return.

The past is about to catch up with both of them in a way that which will change their lives forever, unexpectedly.

But redemption can come in the most unlikely ways






 

STORY BEHIND THE BOOK:

Kim:

This was my first book choice. Initially I was going to choose The Secret Life of Bees but realised that it had already been selected a while back. I finally whittled it down to three books. The Man I Think I Know was described as a good read and likened to Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine and The Summer of Impossible Things, both books we had read recently and enjoyed.

 

THE DISCUSSION: (Contains spoilers)

Kim started off by reading her review and commenting on the fact that this was a wonderful book about the very rare thing in fiction - male friendship. We all agreed that we enjoyed the novel and the two man characters in the book were very likeable. James, a successful young man before his ABI (Acquired Brain Injury) returns home to be cared for by his parents. We sympathised with his mum who although smothered him and treated him like a child, was obviously trying her best to look after him after his shocking life changing trauma. We could really see the impact it had on the whole family as well as on James.


Danny, also once a successful scholar loses his sister in his early twenties and becomes consumed with alcohol and depression. He finally gets a job as a carer and ends up working in the care home where James is having a weeks respite. We were annoyed at first that Danny refused to acknowledge the fact that he knew James and had in fact been to school with him. But we quickly forgave him when his friendship blossomed with James and he agreed to be James' live in carer. It was a beautiful equal friendship where they were vital in helping the other take back control of their life.


We found it interesting to find out about the other characters who had ABIs in the novel and the reason they gained theirs. We found this added to the realism of the book and made it more enjoyable.

 

REVIEW Contains spoilers):


Kim's Thoughts:

The Man I Think I Know shows the gradual friendship that develops between the two men as they solve each others' problems - James offering Danny a home and a job, while Danny gets James out and about again and helps him regain his confidence. There are also enough bumps along the path to happiness for it to be a gripping read. The characters are real and although they are flawed, they are extremely likeable, and best of all, there's plenty of humour. I loved this book and look forward to reading more from this author.

Gemma's Thoughts:

In my twenties I enjoyed reading easy contemporary fiction novels, mostly on holiday, and Mike Gayle was an author I would happily turn to. Since book club I have explored many other genres and know that my tastes and expectations have changed. When I heard our next book was by a familiar author I was both excited and apprehensive. Would I get the same pleasure as I once did from reading his novels or would it disappoint? I'm afraid to say it was more the latter. Whilst I enjoyed reading the book, with its easy style of writing and comprehensive plot, it didn't call out for me to pick it up each day. I did like the two main characters, who were totally helpless at the start of the novel and who grew, with each other's support, managing to get their lives back on track. I am happy that they both found love and were able to forgive. If you enjoy reading Mike Gayle's books then this will not disappoint.

 

THE SCORES:

Donna: 9

Gemma: 6

Kim: 8

Nic: 7

Pamela: 7

Sandra: 7

 

Average 7


Let us know what your thoughts are about this book. We would love to read your reviews and know what you would score it.


If you enjoyed this book why not try:

  • Goodnight Beautiful by Dorothy Koomson

  • Wonder by R.J. Palacia

  • Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine by Gail Honeyman

  • A Man Called Ove by Fredrik Backman

  • The Shock of the Fall by Nathan Filer

Happy reading!

35 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page