top of page
  • thebookcosy

Three Things About Elsie by Joanna Cannon

Updated: Nov 4, 2019

Our Score:★★★★★★✩✩✩✩


GENRE: Fiction

Selected by Kim - May 2019

SYNOPSIS:

There are three things you should know about Elsie. The first thing is that she’s my best friend. The second is that she always knows what to say to make me feel better. And the third thing… might take a little bit more explaining.

84-year-old Florence has fallen in her flat at Cherry Tree Home for the Elderly. As she waits to be rescued, Florence wonders if a terrible secret from her past is about to come to light; and, if the charming new resident is who he claims to be, why does he look exactly like a man who died sixty years ago?

From the author of THE TROUBLE WITH GOATS AND SHEEP, this book will teach you many things, but here are three of them: 1) The fine threads of humanity will connect us all forever. 2) There is so very much more to anyone than the worst thing they have ever done. 3) Even the smallest life can leave the loudest echo.


(Synopsis taken from Goodreads)

 

STORY BEHIND THE BOOK:

Kim:

I was looking for an English author and stumbled across this book. After reading the synopsis to find out it was about the older generation I was hooked.

 

THE DISCUSSION: (Contains spoilers)

This book divided us. Whilst most agreed it was hard to get into the story initially the majority of us enjoyed it. We all agreed that it was well written, realistic, humorous, sad and full of wonderful descriptions. We especially liked how the author would describe everyday objects, such as the windscreen wipers on the car.


The characters were robust and drew us in, they progressed and developed along with the story, which we loved. Most of us didn't guess the truth about Elsie until it was pointed out which caused mixed emotions of shock and some anger.


There was a lot going on in this book, lots of different story lines weaving together to create the bigger picture. We were also divided in our opinions on some things, in particular Florence and Elsie's relationship. We questioned whether Florence's feelings towards Elsie was more than that of just a friend and if that was the reason why she never married? We also wondered about how the brooch ended up in Florence's flat as it never stated that she had actually purchased it. And the ending, were we satisfied? Some of us felt it was the right end; Florence was at peace and ready to face death. Others were not convinced that she died there on the floor. I guess every good story is open to interpretation.


In our addition of the book we had, at the back, a collection of 'Three Things I'd tell My Younger Self' written by a variety of people from different backgrounds. These were an added bonus to the novel and we found some funny, some sad and most thought provoking.

 

QUESTIONS:


1. Why do you think author Joanna Cannon decided to set the novel in a nursing home?

2. On page 63, Florence says, "I needed someone to hold my worrying for me." How does Elsie play this role for her?

3. The act of naming and renaming things is a recurring theme in the novel. Why do you think this is significant?

4. Did Florence’s failing memory change your understanding of events at Cherry Tree? Does it make her a less reliable narrator? Why or why not?

5. "Simon wondered where his life ended and their life began, and how we could all be stitched so tightly together, yet the threads between everybody still go unnoticed" (page 124). How does this idea of the bonds between humanity play out throughout the novel?

6. "‘You’ve got to find forgiveness, Florence,’ said Elsie. ‘You find it so easily in other people, why do you struggle so much to find it in yourself?’" (page 334). Why do you think Florence struggles to forgive herself for the past?

7. Consider the role of time in novel, especially Florence’s idea of a "long second"—when time seems to hesitate just long enough to give you a chance to make the right decision. Have you experienced any "long seconds" in your life?

8. Florence and Simon both repeat throughout the novel that they have lived very ordinary lives. Do you think this is the case? How do you think ordinary versus extraordinary is measured?

9. "Sometimes, a name is the only thing we can leave behind," Florence says on page 103. Do you think this is true? What else do you think Florence will leave behind?

10. Did the third thing about Elsie come as a surprise to you? Why or why not?

11. What do you think makes Florence ultimately realise that she has lived an extraordinary life, in the end? (Questions issued by the publishers.)


Taken from:

 

REVIEW: (Contains Spoilers):


Gemma's Thoughts:

I found this a very thought provoking book. For me, it was sad at times especially given the context: old people in a home, close to death, looking back at their lives and the impact they may have had on others and the world. I was very fond of the main characters (Florence, Elsie, Jack, Simon and Mrs Ambrose) and found each one intriguing. Their loneliness, vulnerability and reflection on their own lives was heartfelt. I really enjoyed the alternating chapters from the different viewpoints of the characters and felt each one evolve as the story progressed. Even though I knew from the second chapter the truth about Elsie it didn't spoil my overall enjoyment of the novel. I loved the 'who done it feel' of the book along with all the kindness references.

My absolute favourite quote was on page 180:


It's strange, because you can put up with all manner of nonsense in your life, all sorts of sadness, and you manage to keep everything on board and march through it, then someone is kind to you and it's the kindness that makes you cry. It's the tiny act of goodness that opens a door somewhere and lets all the misery escape.


I could definitely see this novel as a television drama or a film.


Sandra's Thoughts:

I really liked the way it was written and the descriptive imagery but I didn't enjoy it. If it wasn't for book club I would not have finished it. It took me such a long time to get through it even though it was an easy read. I thought the part about Elsie reminded me of a section in the novel Eleanor Oliphant when she was talking to her mum. There was also another part when the battenberg cakes fell out of the cupboard and it reminded me of the novel Elizabeth Is Missing. These little links I enjoyed.


Nic's Thoughts:

Although this book touched subjects that were a bit close to home, I really enjoyed it. It felt like a good holiday book, easy to read and interesting. I liked the characters, especially Jack.


Pamela's Thoughts:

I didn't enjoy this book. I found it very hard to get into the story even though it was an easy read. Only once I was half way through did I feel the novel flowed more. Then when I found out that Elsie was dead it made me very angry.


Kim's Thoughts:

I really enjoyed this book. I thought it was cleverly written with lots of links throughout which I enjoyed. For example: Simon's dad was a fireman who was traumatised by the one person he was unable to save and Elsie was the one person who didn't survive her fire. I also liked the fact that this book symbolised the importance of just because you are old doesn't mean you need to be written off, your thoughts, opinions and actions are just as important.


Donna's Thoughts:

I found the book a bit confusing to start with and the story line was a bit close to home for me too, the dementia aspect. However, I really enjoyed it. I loved the humour that weaved through the story and found it to be realistic and true to life.

 

THE SCORES:

Donna: 8

Gemma: 6

Kim: 7

Nic: 7

Pamela: 4

Sandra: 5

 

Average 6


Let us know your thoughts about this book. We would love to read your reviews and hear what you would score it.


If you enjoyed this book why not try:

  • Elizabeth is Missing by Emma Healey

  • A Man Called Ove by Fredrik Backman

  • Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine by Gail Honeyman

  • The Vanishing Act of Esme Lennox by Maggie O'Farrell

Happy reading!

807 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page