top of page
  • Writer's pictureGemma

All The Lovely Pieces by J.M. Winchester

Updated: Nov 4, 2019

★★★★★

SYNOPSIS

Motherly love can drive her to the absolute edge...


For nine years, Drew Baker has been running from her brutal husband and the dark deeds of the night she left him. Focused on protecting her ten-year-old son, Drew reluctantly settles into a small town, eager to find proof of her husband's true nature so she can stop looking over her shoulder.


But Drew is also on the run from her own terrible crimes--ones that mean prison and separation from her son should the police catch up to her before her husband does. If only she could remember that night and what really transpired...


Without warning, the unthinkable happens, and Drew is plunged into the most nightmarish situation a woman and mother could imagine. Desperate to save her child, Drew takes matters into her own hands, proving that anyone is capable of darkness, and nowhere is safe for those who fear themselves.


(Synopsis taken from Goodreads)

 

My Thoughts (contains spoilers):

I absolutely loved this book. It is everything I look for in a psychological thriller. It was fast paced with an air of mystery surrounding it; why was she running away from Adam? Why was Catherine in the room? It was clear she could have escaped but why didn't she? All the pieces of the puzzle came together as the story progressed and that is why it was such an intriguing read. I did want Drew to confide in her newly found friends and was disappointed when she didn't. I'm sure anyone would have been supportive of someone opening up about an abusive relationship. I understand that she feared she had murdered the nanny and wanted to keep that a secret but still she could have told a bit more of her story to her friends.


Things I loved about the book:

  • The Front Cover. Although I had an e-book and didn't benefit from seeing the cover each time I opened my e-reader I still really love this cover and will probably buy the book just so I can admire this on my book shelf.

  • The Short Chapters which in my mind kept you wanting to read just one more chapter before bedtime. This also added to the pace of the book which was fast, snappy and precise. Just what I look for in a psychological thriller.

  • The Alternating Chapters I personally really enjoy novels that are told through more than one character's viewpoint. I think this adds dept and dimension to both the characters and the story line. I particularly liked the way the past and present weaved its way through the novel with Drew's flashbacks.


For me this was the thriller of the summer. I enjoyed every element and stayed up way too late to finish simply because I couldn't rest until I knew how it ended. I wasn't disappointed. Thank you to Netgalley and Thomas and Mercer publishers for a copy of this brilliant psychological thriller.






45 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page