top of page
  • Writer's pictureGemma

Eight 1/2 Stones by Liz Jones

When I was invited, by Midas PR, to join the blog tour of Eight 1/2 Stones I immediately said yes. Liz Jones began her career as a fashion journalist and when I read the synopsis I knew I would be in for an humorous and motivating read. Who doesn't question their own body shape and long to have the 'perfect' figure?


Due to a change in publication date I am currently hosting a spotlight post and will review the book at a later date.


Inspired by her own long-term struggles with an eating disorder, Liz Jones’ debut comic novel Eight and a Half Stone is an honest look at how women view their bodies, and themselves.


SYNOPSIS:


When I reach eight and a half stone:

• I will be able to shop in Topshop. If only I could fit in a size 10 or an 8, just walk in a shop and not even have to try it on because let’s face it I will be straight up and down, then everything would slot neatly into place, completing the easiest jigsaw puzzle in the world: all straight edges.

• I will be able to go swimming and not displace all the water and create a tsunami.

• I will fit in changing rooms, without banging my elbows or exposing the moon of my arse through the curtain when I bend over.

• I will be able to fit behind the narrow benches at Ronnie Scott’s to listen to jazz instead of being offered a chair, at the end.

• I will be promoted and not have my desk moved to inside the stationery cupboard.

 

Sounds wonderful doesn't it? And I can't wait to read it. Review to follow.

 

‘Wonderfully witty and painfully honest - I couldn’t stop reading.’

Deborah Ross, The Times

‘Liz Jones is a fearless, funny truth teller about the female condition. 8 and a half stone will bring comfort and joy to fans of her column and to anyone who ever removed their contact lenses to weigh less as they step on those tyrannical scales.’

Allison Pearson, The Daily Telegraph

 

AUTHOR:


Liz Jones has millions of readers across the world and was shortlisted five times in the last six years as Columnist of the Year at the British Press Awards and Columnist of the Year 2012 at the BSME awards.


Liz Jones, former editor-in-chief of Marie Claire -- where she ran a high profile campaign to ban skinny models -- fashion editor at the Daily Mail and now columnist at the Mail on Sunday, grew up in Essex, and suffered from eating disorders from the age of 11 until her late thirties.

 






Liz Jones’s novel, Eight and a Half Stone, is out in ebook on 12th April, £8.99, available on all outlets including Apple Books and Kindle. A paperback follows in August.




Check out the other bloggers to read their reviews of Eight 1/2 Stone.







10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page