top of page
  • Writer's pictureGemma

Falling by T.J. Newman



 

SYNOPSIS:


You just boarded a flight to New York.


There are one hundred and forty-three other passengers onboard.


What you don’t know is that thirty minutes before the flight your pilot’s family was kidnapped.


For his family to live, everyone on your plane must die.


The only way the family will survive is if the pilot follows his orders and crashes the plane.


Enjoy the flight.




 

MY THOUGHTS:

When I first read the synopsis I knew I just had to read this book. It has been described by Dom Winslow as "... Jaws at 35,000 feet" and I completely agree. The premise of the book is terrifying; to be stuck on a plane knowing that you probably won't survive! My heart was in my throat as I was reading and I couldn't turn the pages fast enough.


The book alternates between the characters: Bill, the pilot; Carrie, his wife; Jo, head of the cabin crew and Theo, an FBI agent. This really helped with the pace of the novel and gave it a three dimensional quality. As Bill embarks on a routine flight he receives a message from home. His wife and family are being held hostage with an explosive vest strapped to their bodies. The abductor demands that the pilot makes a choice: who will die, his family or the passengers aboard the aircraft? In order to keep his family safe he must crash the plane.


The novel was so credible, due to the author's own experience of working as a flight attendance, that I was really drawn into the storyline and the drama that unfolded. A fast-paced, action-packed thriller, which I very much enjoyed. I can definitely envision this as a film or drama on screen. Many thanks to Anne Cater at Random Things Tours for inviting me to join the tour and to Simon & Schuster for my gifted copy.

 

AUTHOR:

T. J. Newman, a former bookseller turned flight attendant, worked for Virgin America and Alaska Airlines from 2011 to 2021. She wrote much of Falling on cross-country red-eye flights while her passengers were asleep. She lives in Phoenix, Arizona. Falling is her first novel.


10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page