top of page
  • Writer's pictureGemma

Fifty Fifty by Steve Cavanagh


SYNOPSIS:

Two sisters on trial for murder. Both accuse each other.

Who do YOU believe? Alexandra Avellino has just found her father's mutilated body, and needs the police right away. She believes her sister killed him, and that she is still in the house with a knife.


Sofia Avellino has just found her father's mutilated body and needs the police right away. She believes her sister, Alexandra did it, and that she is still in the house, locked in the bathroom.

Both women are to go on trial at the same time.


A joint trial in front of one jury.


But one of these women is lying. One of them is a murderer. Sitting in a jail cell, about to go on trial with her sister for murder, you might think that this is the last place she expected to be.


You'd be wrong.

 

My Thoughts:

I do love a courtroom drama and a good thriller and Fifty Fifty was both of these things. From the opening pages you are there with Eddie Flynn awaiting the verdicts from the Jury as to how they find the defendants, thrilling stuff. The book then goes back three months to the 911 call. There is something so chilling reading these transcripts; two women finding their father's body minutes apart and calling the emergency services. Both sound innocent at this point although you know one is guilty of the murder.


As the story evolves you get to learn a little bit more about the sisters, although they are still quite elusive. I kept second guessing their movements and behaviour all the way throughout the novel, trying to get a grip on which one was the serial killer. The chapters titled SHE added to the overall confusion as to which sister's voice we were hearing and I loved these extracts, although sometimes disturbing in content. I adored the criminal teams defending the two sisters and I wanted both sides to be victorious in the case and in their own judgements of the sisters, although I knew one side had to be wrong. Having not read an Eddie Flynn novel before did not put me at any disadvantage reading this book, his personality shone through in the opening chapters and I immediately warmed to his nature. Kate Brooks was another interesting character who I was routing for from the very beginning.


Fifty Fifty kept me on the edge of my seat. I loved the hidden twists, the courtroom proceedings, how the evidence was sourced and presented in court and how two opposing lawyers came together to identify the real killer. This novel felt fresh with a nod towards the #MeToo movement which I loved. The final page was a complete selling point for me, to reach out for the next book in the Eddie Flynn series. I just don't know if I can wait patiently enough until then, I may have to pick up the previous books I haven't had chance to read yet and jump straight in. I do love it when you find a series you know you are going to be hooked on.


Many thanks to Alex @Orionbooks for a proof copy of Fifty Fifty, an intense read which I was captivated by.

 

AUTHOR:


Steve Cavanagh is the bestselling author of the Eddie Flynn novels and standalone thrillers. He was selected for the Amazon Rising Stars programme 2015. ACES award winner 2015 from the Arts Council of Northern Ireland.


In 2018 The Liar won the Crime Writers Association Gold Dagger for crime novel of the year. In 2019 Thirteen won the Theakstons Old Peculier Crime Novel of the year 2019. Twisted was a Sunday Times Bestseller. All of his novels have either been nominated for awards, or have won awards internationally.


He is a former lawyer, and was born and raised in Belfast, Northern Ireland, where he still lives.

 













18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page