top of page
  • Writer's pictureGemma

I Am Dust by Louise Beech

Updated: Nov 29, 2020

🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟


SYNOPSIS:

When iconic musical Dust is revived twenty years after the leading actress was murdered in her dressing room, a series of eerie events haunts the new cast…


The Dean Wilson Theatre is believed to be haunted by a long-dead actress, singing her last song, waiting for her final cue, looking for her killer…


Now Dust, the iconic musical, is returning after twenty years. But who will be brave enough to take on the role of ghostly goddess Esme Black, last played by Morgan Miller, who was murdered in her dressing room?


Theatre usher Chloe Dee is caught up in the spectacle. As the new actors arrive, including an unexpected face from her past, everything changes. Are the eerie sounds and sightings backstage real or just her imagination? Is someone playing games?


Not all the drama takes place onstage. Sometimes murder, magic, obsession and the biggest of betrayals are real life. When you’re in the theatre shadows, you see everything.


And Chloe has been watching…

 
 

My Thoughts:

This was a beautifully written novel; poetic in places and utterly absorbing. I was completely transported to the world of the theatre. Having been to theatres as part of the audience I truly got a feel for what goes on behinds the scenes, and it made me appreciate how unique and special a place theatres are.


For me there were two elements of the book, the supernatural aspect and the magical world of the theatre. I have to say I loved both parts equally. Although a work of fiction, I long to see the performance of 'Dust' on stage as well as 'She Haunts Me'. Both these fictional plays were portrayed in such a glittering, magical light and really captured my imagination. I too was fascinated by the supernatural elements that were prominent throughout the novel and of course was intrigued by the mystery surrounding the death of Morgan Miller.


This book is not for the faint-hearted; it not only tugs on your heart-strings but scares you with the ghostly going-ons. There is a seriously spooky undertone to the novel as well as a deep sadness. The main character Chloe is lost, she self-harms to cope with rejection and loss: loss of friendship, love and the person she wanted to become; her emotional and physical scars forever a reminder that she wasn't good enough. You cannot help be drawn to Chloe, to feel her pain and hope that her dreams of performing on stage come true.


The ending was an emotional one, atmospheric and very fitting. I loved the way it was written in a dual timeline, this helped create tension and pace within the novel and helped me truly understand each of the characters and their history. Everything about the novel worked for me and I was entranced reading it like I would be watching an exceptional performance on stage. This is definitely a 5 star read for me and my favourite book so far this year.


Many thanks to Louise Beech for writing such an overwhelming novel, which captured my heart and left me breathless. Thank you to Anne Cater and Orenda Books for inviting me on the I Am Dust blog tour.

 

AUTHOR:


Louise Beech is an exceptional literary talent, whose debut novel How To Be Brave was a Guardian Readers’ Choice for 2015.


Her second book, The Mountain in My Shoe was shortlisted for Not the Booker Prize. Both of her previous books Maria in the Moon and The Lion Tamer Who Lost were widely reviewed, critically acclaimed and number-one bestsellers on Kindle.


The Lion Tamer Who Lost was shortlisted for the RNA Most Popular Romantic Novel Award in 2019.


Her short fiction has won the Glass Woman Prize, the Eric Hoffer Award for Prose, and the Aesthetica Creative Works competition, as well as shortlisting for the Bridport Prize twice.


Louise lives with her husband on the outskirts of Hull, and loves her job as a Front of House Usher at Hull Truck Theatre, where her first play was performed in 2012.



13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page