top of page
  • Writer's pictureGemma

The Body in the Mist by Nick Louth

Updated: Nov 4, 2019

Score: ★★★★★★★★✩✩


27th May 2019


Synopsis:


Detective Inspector Jan Talantire is called out to an unlit country lane where a body has been found lying face down in the ditch. When sealing off the crime scene she finds human remains further up the road by the phone box and smeared on the tarmac; indications of a hit and run. With no ID on the body and a disfigured face, trying to identify the victim becomes a laborious task. DSI Craig Gillard receives a call from his two aunts in Barnstable asking for help, the car involved in the hit and run belongs to Barbara, one of the sister. There unfolds a web of deceit, family secrets and a cold case that needs solving.




Whist this is the third book in the DSI Craig Gillard series it can be read as a stand alone novel. I was hooked from the beginning. With alternating chapters, a host of colourful characters and two murders needing to be solved it kept you guessing till the end. And what an ending!



  • The Setting. Having lived in Surrey most of my life and then moving to the West Country I really appreciated all the references and detail to both locations. For example, the Phone box that had been adopted by the local community and turned into a free library. These are dotted all around Somerset and Devon which are a wonderful addition to any small village. It was these small details that brought the book alive for me and added to my enjoyment

  • The Alternating Chapters. I loved the fact that it would flit from one crime to another, one detective to another and the different characters. This gave me not only a sense of realism but kept my mind constantly focused on the different elements within the novel.

  • The Cold Case. I really enjoyed this particular story line and how it was 'sightly' connected to the main story. I was very intrigued to find out more and for the case to be solved.

  • The Forensic Information. This was definitely an insightful element to the novel and I was amazed at learning all the different techniques which were used in order to help gain evidence to the cases. It gave the book some weight but wasn't overly bogged down by the scientific procedures.

  • The Court Room Drama. I felt this part was a really good way of resolving the main story of the novel. It gave the book a new dimension which I really enjoyed.

  • The Ending. For me the story came full circle with all loose ends tied up in a satisfactory manner. With an enjoyable cliff hanger.


I could really see this as part of a television crime drama. I highly recommend this book and will look forward to reading the previous books in the series.


Thank you to NetGallery and Canelo for my copy of this book.


5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page