• Gemma

The Lies I Tell by Joel Hames

It is a real pleasure to be on the blog tour of The Lies I Tell by Joel Hames.

From the bestselling author of Dead North, a tense, claustrophobic psychological thriller perfect for fans of Lucy Foley, Claire McGowan and Clare Mackintosh.


SYNOPSIS:

SHE’S WATCHING YOU, BUT WHO’S WATCHING HER? Meet Polly. Meet Emily. Meet Belinda. They're all me. My name is Lisa and I’m an identity thief. If I’m not inside your system stealing your money, I’ve probably already stolen it. I’m your friend. I’m a thief. I’m gone. I’m in control. Only now, the tables have been turned. I’m in danger. My son is in danger. And I don’t know where that danger’s coming from. Any friend. Any enemy. Any stranger. Anyone from the past I’ve been trying to outrun for years. NOBODY CAN BE TRUSTED.

MY THOUGHTS:

As soon as I read the blurb I just knew that I had to read this book. I was definitely intrigued by the premise of the novel and loved the uniqueness of it.


Although she goes by many names and different personalities, Lisa is ultimately a single mum and a scammer. She spends her time researching people on the internet and committing acts of fraud. As you delve deeper into the novel you get to see snippets of her early childhood and realise the horror, abuse and trauma she has been through. Her main mission in life is to protect her only son and provide for him. I loved how these flashbacks into Lisa's life ran alongside the main storyline, making her appear more likeable by unearthing a much more vulnerable side to her personality.


However, the tables are soon turned when Lisa is facing her own intentity fraud. Someone is clearly out to get her by placing her at the scene of a murder. With the police knocking on her door, Lisa fears that it is only a matter of time until her arrest. She needs to find the evidence that she is being targeted for this crime and is an innocent bystander. As the time ticks away, Lisa finds herself in a cat and mouse chase to clear her name.


This book was quite the page-turner I was hoping it would be. Like Lisa, I doubted the integrity of all of the characters not knowing who to believe or who Lisa could trust. I had no idea what the outcome would be which kept me hooked and turning the pages with increased speed. I have to say I loved the ending and was both surprised and relieved all at the same time. Although this was a complex plot it was easy to follow and a very compelling read. A modern day intelligent thriller which kept me guessing till the very end.


Many thanks to Zoé at Zooloo's book tours for inviting me to take part and for my digital copy of the book.

AUTHOR:

A Londoner in exile, Joel Hames lives in rural Lancashire with his wife and two daughters.


His works of fiction include the bestselling Sam Williams trilogy Dead North, No One Will Hear and The Cold Years, and the standalone psychological thriller The Lies I Tell.


When not writing or spending time with his family, Joel likes to eat, cook, play the piano, and make up excuses to avoid walking the dog. There’s the MMA thing, too, but he doesn’t like to show off.


You can find out more about Joel and sign up to his mailing list through social media or his very own website:


Facebook: facebook.com/joelhamesauthor

Twitter: @joel_hames

Website: http://www.joelhamesauthor.com Follow him at: Facebook https://www.facebook.com/joelhamesauthor/

Twitter https://twitter.com/joel_hames Website: http://www.joelhamesauthor.com


BUY LINK:

Amazon UK : https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B08THZRDRW

Amazon US https://www.amazon.com/Lies-Tell-Know-Whos-Watching-ebook/dp/B08THZRDRW





8 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All