top of page
  • Writer's pictureGemma

The Nesting By C.J. Cooke

HarperCollins 15th October 2020 Hardback Ebook | Audio

 

SYNOPSIS:

The grieving widower.

The motherless daughters.

A beautiful house in the woods.

And a nanny come to save the day….


So what if Lexi isn’t telling the truth about who she is? Escaping to the remote snows of Norway was her lifeline. And all she wanted was to be a part of their lives.


But soon, isolated in that cold, creaking house in the middle of ancient, whispering woods, Lexi's fairytale starts to turn into a nightmare.


With darkness creeping in from the outside, Lexi’s fears are deepening. Lexi knows she needs to protect the children in her care.


But protect them from what?




 

MY THOUGHTS:

When this beautiful hardback arrived through my door I was overcome with delight. Not only had the synopsis won me over but when I saw the physical book I was blown away; such a Gothic, chilling cover, I knew I was in for a thrilling read.


The novel alternates between Aurelia (then) and Lexi (now) which I loved. There was a real sense of mystery surrounding Aurelia which I found very intriguing and was compelled to find out the truth behind her death. All the main characters in the book are flawed which humanised them and allowed me to sympathise with them all at different points throughout the novel. I didn't always agree with their methods or choices but understood that each character was dealing with their own hidden demons or trauma and their actions were from grief or survival and not from malice.


I absolutely adored the supernatural feel to the novel and the mysterious goings-on that occurred. For me, there is something so chilling and addictive about ghost stories and I just loved this element of the novel, especially with the addition of the Norwegian fairy-tales that weaved their way throughout the book. This brought an authenticity to the novel as well as adding to the overall mood and bringing the setting alive.


Cooke paints such a vivid picture of Norway; the house Granhus and it's setting becomes a character in it's own right. I loved this hostile yet cosy setting that Lexi finds herself in and the strong importance of nature that runs through the book. The superstitions that the Norwegian builders had, with regards to the land, struck a cord with me and the important message portrayed: don't mess with nature.


There was so much to love about The Nesting, it was such an enjoyable, haunting read which I highly recommend. Thank you so much to Random Things Tours, HarperCollins and C.J. Cooke for inviting me on the blog tour. I will treasure my copy of this book.

 

AUTHOR:


C.J. Cooke is an acclaimed, award-winning poet, novelist and academic with numerous other publications under the name of Carolyn Jess-Cooke.


Born in Belfast, she has a PhD in Literature from Queen’s University, Belfast, and is currently Lecturer in Creative Writing at the University of Glasgow, where she researches creative writing interventions for mental health.


She also founded the Stay-At-Home Festival.

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page