top of page
  • Writer's pictureGemma

The Spirits Of Six Minstrel Run by Matthew S. Cox

★★★★

SYNOPSIS:

A move to the small town of Spring Falls, New York is the perfect cure for Mia Gartner’s horrid commute. However, her new home isn’t quite empty.

She adored working in fine art restoration, but a two-hour ride each way got old fast. When her husband found a house for sale at a suspiciously low price, they jumped at it. Mia expected chemical contamination, a fixer-upper, or termites, so when the problem turned out to be persistent rumours of haunting, she set aside her worries. Adam hoped the place would propel his parapsychology hobby into a career.

Upon first sight, the innocuous suburban house filled Mia with dread. Adam had long maintained she had a psychic gift, but if she believed him, that would mean something terrible and dark once happened there.

Soon after their arrival, unexplained events prove the rumours are more than wild stories. A childlike spirit attaches itself to Mia, seeming harmless and so very lonely.

Alas, she fears the ghost may not be as innocent as it seems.


(Taken from Amazon)

 

MY THOUGHTS:

When I first read the synopsis I was drawn immediately to this novel; I love a good ghost story. From the onset this book felt more creepy than the usual supernatural novels that I read and for me crossed over to the horror genre. Whilst engrossed in the novel I was always on tender-hooks waiting for something to jump out and truly terrify me.


Cox's description of the house and the spirits that lie in wait were vivid and petrifying. There was always danger lurking in the background and I was never sure what was going to happen next. This thrill of never knowing added not only to my overall enjoyment but also filled me with dread and panic as I read on. The power of Cox's writing allowed me to visualise every character and event that took place; it was like watching a horror movie. Which I thoroughly enjoyed.


I must confess as the story developed I was beginning to wonder who I could trust. Was Robin who she appeared to be? Was Wilhelmina a friend or a foe? And was the Pastor Weston a help or a hindrance? I didn't anticipate how the plot would evolve and was interested by the concept of 'witchcraft' and reincarnation. The climax was another event that I didn't see coming and the pace quickened in a race to save Robin and Mia.


A well written, spooky novel which will chill you to your core. I loved it. Thank you to Blackthorn Book Tours for inviting me to read and review The Spirits of Six Minstrel Run.

 

AUTHOR:


Originally from South Amboy NJ, Matthew has been creating science fiction and fantasy worlds for most of his reasoning life. Since 1996, he has developed the “Divergent Fates” world in which Division Zero, Virtual Immortality, The Awakened Series, The Harmony Paradox, the Prophet of the Badlands series, and the Daughter of Mars series take place.


His books span adult, young-adult, and middle-grade fiction in multiple genres, predominantly science fiction, cyberpunk, post-apocalyptic, and fantasy.


Matthew is an avid gamer, a recovered WoW addict, developer of two custom tabletop RPG systems, and a fan of anime, British humour, and intellectual science fiction that questions the nature of humanity, reality, life, and what might happen after it.


He is also fond of cats, presently living with two: Loki and Dorian.


 

LINKS:

The Spirits of Six Minstrel Run: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07MY8GDHC

Twitter: @Mscox_Fiction / https://twitter.com/mscox_fiction

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page