top of page
  • Writer's pictureGemma

The Sunny Adventure by Ira Alice


SYNOPSIS:

Mother Fox asked her little daughter to go hunting and get some food for the very first time in her life.


The little fox decided to catch the Sun since it looked very appetizing. Going in search of it, the girl had no idea she would meet a little toad Loudcroak who would become her faithful friend.


This charming adventure story is filled with kindness, courage, and faith, teaching children how true friendship overcomes any obstacles.






 

My Thoughts:

What a delightful book this is. Firstly, the front cover is so pleasantly appealing to both child and adult. The soft pastel colours invite you in to the perfect, cosy, bedtime read. Which might I add was exactly what this book was; an enjoyable, cosy read.


The illustrations were beautiful and really captured the essence of the story. They weren't on every page but helped break up the story and allow the child to have a visual representation of the characters and setting, which I found enhanced the book.


Alice's writing is very descriptive and paints vivid images in your mind. As a mother to a seven year old and a primary school teacher this is exactly the type of book you want your children to read. You want children to see how powerful adjectives and similes can be in painting pictures of characters and settings and this book does it beautifully. I would definitely recommend this book to other teachers, especially those teaching Years 2 and 3.


Alice also uses some fantastic vocabulary choices and synonyms. Once again this would be an excellent text to use within the classroom (and at home) to not only explore vocabulary and the impact words can have to the story line but to enrich the children's own vocabulary.


The story was delightful; a young fox cub going off on her first hunt for food and wants to capture the sun to impress her mum. Along the way she meets the humorous toad and the pair form an unlikely friendship. This friendship in itself is a good focus for discussion and added to my overall enjoyment of the book. The other themes explored in this story are determination, courage, kindness, disappointment and faith.


For a confident reader this is a book they could read independently; for a developing reader or reluctant reader (like my daughter) this is one to read alongside an adult in a shared reading experience. Although, there are so many 'teaching' opportunities and discussion points within this book that regardless of the child's ability this would make a great shared reading experience.


Madison's Thoughts:

I really love the front cover of the book because they are looking at the sun and in the story they are trying to catch the sun. The illustrations are very detailed and colourful which I enjoyed looking at.


I loved all of the characters in the book but found it a bit sad when Redkin couldn't catch the sun. I was glad it had a happy ending and mum didn't mind Redkin not bringing the sun home. I found the ending funny and would love to read more adventures of Redkin and Loudcroak.



Many thanks to Ira Alice for my gifted copy in return for my honest review.

 

AUTHOR:


I love to write books for kids.


I opened that feeling only two years ago but it was a special one. I realized that children by their pureness inspire me to write stories.

Most of my characters are animals. I breathe into them heroic feats. So my books filled with moral things.

I currently live in Ukraine, but I like to travel as much as I can. That also helps me to find inspiration


Find Ira Alice on:


Buy Link:







7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page