top of page
  • Writer's pictureGemma

Whirligig by Andrew James Greig

Updated: Nov 11, 2021

🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟


SYNOPSIS:

Just outside a sleepy Highland town, a gamekeeper is found hanging lifeless from a tree. The local police investigate an apparent suicide, only to find he’s been snared as efficiently as the rabbit suspended beside him. As the body count rises, the desperate hunt is on to find the murderer before any more people die. But the town doesn’t give up its secrets easily, and who makes the intricate clockwork mechanisms carved from bone and wood found at each crime?


Whirligig is a tartan noir like no other; an exposé of the corruption pervading a small Highland community and the damage this inflicts on society’s most vulnerable. What happens when those placed in positions of trust look the other way; when those charged with our protection are inadequate to the challenge; when the only justice is that served by those who have been sinned against?


This debut crime novel introduces DI James Corstophine – a man still grieving for a wife lost to cancer; his small close-knit team of passed-over police and their quiet Highland town. He’s up against a killer who plays him as easily as a child. For a man whose been treading water since the death of his wife, he’s facing a metaphorical flood of biblical proportions as he struggles to understand why these murders are happening, and who is behind each carefully planned execution. All the time, the clock is ticking.

 

Gemma's Thoughts:

From the beginning the prologue takes you on a dark journey where a killer is on the loose committing brutal and twisted crimes. This book was dark, intriguing, a page turner and I absolutely loved it.


In a quiet town, where not much crime is normally committed the police find themselves thrown into a series of murders and dredging up parallels with an older case that was branded a suicide. With the Assistant Chief Constable warning them not to dig into the past, DI Corstophine is more determined than ever to get to the bottom of this cover-up even if it means exposing his friend, the previous Detective Inspector.


Although, there were some gory details with each killing being savage and barbaric I couldn't put the book down. I was invested in the two detectives, Corstophine and DC Frankie McKenzie in solving the crimes and tried hard to piece the mystery together myself. I have to say I failed to get to the bottom of it all.


I loved how the past played a prominent role in understanding the current murders and how each murder was different, reflecting the victims' character and behaviour. This was a very cleverly written novel, which pulled me in emotionally and left me wanting more. I definitely would like to read another novel by this author, especially one that featured Corstophine and McKenzie.


Many thanks to Fledgling Press and Love Book Tours for inviting me to join the Whirligig blog tour and introducing me to the author Andrew James Greig.


Maria's Thoughts:

I found the prologue a little off putting, but soon after I found I was hooked. A definite page turner. Stick with it, you will be rewarded.

 

Author:

Born in London, moved to historic Monmouth as a young teenager and escaped as soon as I could to the bright lights of Bristol where I combined the careers of sober aerospace engineering and libertine sound engineering for as long as I could juggle these disparate and separate worlds.


Now living happily in central Scotland, where I enjoy writing books, playing music and exploring the great outdoors with my best friend who happily is my wife.



Goodreads


Buy Link 












64 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page